Fisher selected CCBL Curly Clement Top Umpire

By: John Garner Jr.
Bill Fisher / Sportspix
08/05/2014 8:46 AM -

      In addition to his summers on the Cape, Fisher has been umpiring college baseball in the spring the past four years, mostly in the Northeast with teams in America East, Big East, Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, Ivy League and Patriot League.

     “When mention of the Cape League is made, it evokes a universal understanding,” Fisher said. "Namely the best college summer baseball in the country, located in arguably the best summer vacation destination in the country, comprised of communities that have a unique passion for baseball. Receiving the Curly Clement Umpire Award links me to all the league is in a concrete way and I'm honored by that.”
         Fisher, who hails from Hudson, N.Y., and resides in Ravena, N.Y., with his wife Diane, is a 1983 graduate of State University of New York College at Oneonta, where he played baseball.
Bill Fisher, center / SportsPix
     "Bill Fisher is a quality umpire and quality person and that’s why he’s the 2014 Curly Clement Umpire ofthe Year recipient in the CCBL,” said Sol Yas, Cape League senior deputy commissioner/director of officiating. “That's also why Bill was given the honor of being home plate umpire at this year's All-Star game. Always with a smile and pleasant greeting, Bill is an outstanding representative of our officiating group, and truly belongs with past winners of the Clement Award."
     Robert “Curly” Clement worked as a Cape League umpire over a span of four decades and was inducted into the CCBL Hall of Fame in 2002. He umpired 16 NCAA Division I Baseball Regionals, several Eastern College Athletic Conference Division I Baseball Championships and two NCAA College World Series.
     Affectionately known as the “Candy Man” for his propensity of passing out candy to players, coaches and field managers during on-field disputes, Clement’s final Cape League appearance was spent working home plate at the 2000 CCBL All-Star game. He died in 2006 after a long illness.
     Previous Clement Award winners include Pat Burns (2013), Joe Caraco (2012), Mark Ottavianelli (2011), Michael Sadowski (2010), John Leeds (2009), Harry Greer (2008), Tim Carey (2007), Peter Hall (2006), the late Jim McNally (2005) and Walter Bentson (2004).

Search Archive »

Browse by Month »

October 2017
August 2017
July 2017
June 2017
April 2017
December 2016
October 2016
August 2016
July 2016
April 2016
March 2016
December 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
December 2012
October 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
March 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
April 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
July 2010
July 2009
June 2009
April 2009
August 2008
July 2008
August 2007
July 2007
July 2006
July 2005
July 2004
July 2003
January 2001
December 2000