America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!


Hall of Fame inductees’ plaques unveiled in private ceremony

Mike Lowell with Dick Bresciani and John Garner at the Hall of Fame in Hyannis
11/20/2011 7:59 PM

Article By:

HYANNIS, Mass. – Before a gathering of inductees, presenters, family, friends and committee members, eight new Cape Cod Baseball League Hall of Fame permanent plaques were unveiled in a private ceremony Friday night inside the baseball exhibit at the John F. Kennedy Hyannis Museum.

     Eight former standout players, including a World Series MVP for the Boston Red Sox and a current major league manager comprised the 12th Cape Cod Baseball League Hall of Fame induction class before a sell-out crowd Saturday at the Chatham Bars Inn’s Monomoy Theater.

     Boston media personality and Cape League broadcaster Scott Wahle again served as master of ceremonies, while inaugural CCBL Hall of Famer Arnold Mycock of the Cotuit Kettleers led the procession of inductees into the hall.

     This year’s class of eight brings total membership in the Cape League Hall of Fame to 116 and five of them used their time in the Cape League as a springboard to the major leagues.

     Inductees included former Boston Red Sox third baseman and 2007 World Series MVP Mike Lowell (Chatham, 1994), former Red Sox catcher and current Seattle Mariners manager Eric Wedge (Yarmouth-Dennis, 1988), former major league hurler Scott Kamieniecki (Harwich, 1984), former MLB outfielder Mark Smith (Wareham, 1990) and pitcher David Bush (Chatham, 2000-01), now under contract with the Philadelphia Phillies.

            Also inducted were Cape League batting champion Paul O’Neill (Cotuit, 1974-75), power-hitting first baseman Doug Fisher (Falmouth, 1984-85) and two-time outstanding pitcher Bill Wissler (Bourne, 1990-91).

 John Garner, Director of Public Relations & Broadcasting
[email protected]

Geoff Converse, Senior Editor
[email protected]