America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!


New Award Added To Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

04/17/2018 3:30 AM

Article By: CCBL Public Relations Office

The Cape Cod Baseball League announced today that they will be adding a new award to their annual Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.  The award will be named after an integral partner of the league and will be named the Peter Gammons Award of Excellence and Distinction.  This prestigious award is recognized and awarded annually to the person, persons or organization that have demonstrated unique and exceptional contributions to, with or for the CCBL and/or its franchises through leadership, vision and performance.

Cape Cod Baseball League President, Chuck Sturtevant states, “It is with the greatest pleasure in announcing and naming this award after a true mentor to our league and the baseball community.  This award will be awarded to the person who has demonstrated the true love of the game of baseball and the league. Having known Peter for over 25 years there is no one who has provided the league with as much mentorship, partnership and helped us to evolve to who we are in the baseball community”

Peter Gammons states, “I am extremely honored.  From following the league for numerous years, it truly is a special and unique league that has become part of my life and many others.  What makes the Cape Cod League so much a part of our lives is all of its players. The players play for their love of the game and their futures, the fans that support the teams, the host families, the communities and the stories that have evolved.  From when Darin Erstad played in Falmouth and then went on to play with the Angels and helped lead them to the 2002 World Series, when Andrew Miller struck out 12 straight hitters through the fourth inning when the Chatham fog rolled in or meeting Mark Kotsay for the first time while he was bagging my groceries at the old Bourne A&P.  These memories and much more have stuck with me over the years and I am proud to be able to continue to give back with the honoring of this award for years to come.”