America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!


Ottavianelli named Top Umpire

08/09/2011 2:46 PM

Article By: John Garner Jr.

CAPE COD, Mass. -- Mark Ottavianelli has umpired college baseball games for the past 13 years, including the past several in the Cape Cod Baseball League.
            This past summer he reached the pinnacle in his profession by receiving the 8th annual Curly Clement Award, presented for officiating excellence and contributions over the years to umpiring in the Cape Cod Baseball League. 
            “It’s a great honor to be recognized by the Cape League,” said Ottavianelli, who worked behind home plate at Tuesday’s CCBL Fist-Round Playoff Game at Hyannis. “The talent level here is phenomenal and it’s a pleasure working out there behind the plate or on the bases.”
The Clement Award was presented to Ottavanielli last week during the first game of the CCBL West Division playoffs between Bourne and Wareham by Sol Yas, CCBL deputy commissioner and umpire-in-chief, and Nick Zibelli, president of the CBUAO.
 “Otto dispels the notion that umpires are the enemy,” said CCBL Deputy Commissioner Yas. “He‘s a true gentleman on and off the field; a consistent, no-frills performer who demonstrated his skills behind the plate in last year's championship game. He’s a credit to the CBUAO and the CCBL.
A 1983 graduate of Bishop Stang, “Otto” matriculated to Southeastern Mass. (now U. Mass-Dartmouth), where he began umpiring and later was assistant men’s basketball coach. After a coaching stint at Coyle Cassidy, Mark is now the athetioc director at Taunton High School.
      Robert “Curly” Clement worked as a Cape League umpire for over four decades and was inducted into the CCBL Hall of Fame in 2002. He umpired in 16 NCAA Division I Baseball Regionals, several ECAC Division I Baseball Championships and two NCAA College World Series during his career. 
      Affectionately known as the “Candy Man” for his propensity of passing out candy to players, coaches and field managers during on-field disputes, Clement’s final Cape League appearance was working home plate at the 2000 CCBL All-Star Game. He passed away in 2006 after a long illness.

     Previous Clement Award winners include Michael Sadowski (2010), John Leeds (2009), Harry Greer (2008), Tim Carey (2007), Peter Hall (2006), Jim McNally (2005) and Walter Bentson (2004).