America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!

League News

How the Cape League playoffs are set up

07/30/2015 3:33 PM

Article By: Tori Cotnoir

     After nearly two months of an exciting, gritty Cape Cod Baseball League 2015 season, the postseason is upon us. Monday, Aug. 3 marks the beginning of the 2015 Cape League playoffs. 
     The playoffs are broken into three rounds. The first round will involve eight teams, in which the leading team in each division will host the fourth-place team within its division in a best-of-three series. Similarly, the second-place team in each division will host the third-place team within its division in a best-of-three series. There will be no play-in games. If there is a tie between the competing teams, a system of established tiebreaking methods will be used to determine the winner.
     The second round of playoffs will be a best-of-three East Division championship series and a best-of-three West Division championship series. Home-field advantage will be given to the team with higher point total in the regular season. If two teams have the same point total, a tiebreaking system will be utilized.
     Finally, the Cape League championship series will be played between the last two teams standing. That series will begin the day after the final game of the East and West Division championship series and also will be a best-of-three series. The team with the highest regular-season point total will host Game 1 and Game 3 (if necessary).
     There will be no off days for these teams during playoffs. And any weather-related delays will be resumed as soon as possible. 
     For the latest information and updates, check in with the CCBL Facebook Page, Twitter @Official_CCBL, website or Instagram @officialccbl. You can also stay up to date by following specific teams on social media. The following lists the official Twitter accounts for each team:
Bourne Braves: @BourneBraves
Brewster Whitecaps: @WhitecapsCCBL
Chatham Anglers: @ChathamAnglers
Cotuit Kettleers: @CotuitKettleers
Falmouth Commodores: @FalCommodores
Harwich Mariners: @HarwichMariners
Hyannis Harbor Hawks: @harborhawks (general info) or @HyannisGameday (live tweeting)
Orleans Firebirds: @FirebirdsCCBL
Wareham Gatemen: @WarehamGatemen
Yarmouth-Dennis Red Sox: @YD_RedSox