America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!

League News

Former Hyannis infielder wins Minor League Gold Glove

Joey DeMichele (Hyannis, 2011)
10/07/2015 5:00 PM

Article By: CCBL Public Relations Office

      Former Hyannis Harbor Hawks second baseman Joey DeMichele is the sole Cape Cod Baseball League graduate named by Minor League Baseball and Rawlings Sporting Goods as a recipient of Minor League Baseball’s 2015 Rawlings Gold Glove award for defensive excellence.

     DeMichele, the Birmingham Barons’ second baseman, registered a .985 fielding percentage in 135 games for the Chicago White Sox’s Double-A club. The fourth-year pro out of Arizona State University recorded 665 total chances and participated in 91 double plays. DeMichele, 24, was selected by the ChiSox in the third round of the 2012 draft.

     He is the son of Cape League Hall of Famer Dan DeMichele (Class of 2012), who played at Sagamore and Yarmouth in the 1960s.

     The honorees were selected among qualifying players from the 10 domestic-based, full-season minor leagues. Each player will receive his own Rawlings Gold Glove award, modeled after the iconic award given to Major League Baseball’s top defensive players, during the 2016 season.

     “Congratulations to the nine outstanding Minor League Baseball players who deservedly won the 2015 Rawlings Gold Glove award,” said Mike Thompson, executive vice president and general manager of baseball for St. Louis-based Rawlings. “Minor League Baseball is and will always continue to be a great partner of Rawlings, and we knew the Rawlings Gold Glove award would be a popular goal for many young players when we decided to rekindle this award platform in 2011.”

     “Each year, it is a privilege to recognize the top defensive players in Minor League Baseball and honor them with a Rawlings Gold Glove award,” said Pat O’Conner, president and chief executive officer of Minor League Baseball. “All nine of these players displayed extraordinary skills at their positions this season, and on behalf of Minor League Baseball, I congratulate them on this outstanding accomplishment.”

     The 2015 Minor League Baseball recipients of the Rawlings Gold Glove award are as follows:

     MLB Org.
     Lakeland (A), Erie (AA)
     Birmingham (AA)
     Chicago (AL)
     Biloxi (AA)
     Fresno (AAA), Colorado Springs (AAA)
     Lakewood (A)
     Trey Martin
     Myrtle Beach (A)
     Chicago (NL)
     Reading (AA), Lehigh Valley (AAA)
     Carson Kelly
     Palm Beach (A)
     St. Louis
     Ty Blach
     Sacramento (AAA)
     San Francisco
     To be eligible to receive the Rawlings Gold Glove award, players must have participated in one of the 10 domestic-based, full-season leagues, and shown outstanding defensive skills. The award was re-introduced to Minor League Baseball in 2011 after an almost 50-year hiatus.