America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!

League News

Twelve Legends to be Inducted into Cape Cod Baseball League Hall of Fame

10/22/2002 1:41 PM

Article By:

for immediate release: 22 October, 2002

Twelve Legends to be Inducted
into Cape Cod Baseball League Hall of Fame
Ceremony Scheduled for Nov. 2 at Chatham Bars Inn
Broadcast Live on Teamline

CAPE COD, Mass. – Twelve former players, coaches and officials will be inducted into the 3rd Annual Cape Cod Baseball League’s Hall of Fame Class, Saturday, November 2, with a ceremony at the Chatham Bars Inn in Chatham, Mass., beginning at 10 am. 

     Included in this year’s class are the Boston Red Sox dynamic duo of Nomar Garciaparra and Jason Varitek, former major league hurlers Ron Darling and Paul Mitchell, former major league manager and newly-named Texas Rangers manager Nat “Buck” Showalter, veteran umpire Curly Clement, CCBL Vice President Dick Sullivan, former administrators Russ Ford and Bernie Kilroy and former player/managers George Greer, George Karras and Bill Livesey. " The diversity and talent of this group is exceptional, “ said Paul Galop, co-chair of the CCBL Hall of Fame Committee. “The Hall of Fame Committee and Advisory Board worked tirelessly and researching nominees and worthy candidates. There is representation of players, managers, umpires and league officials with the range of this class covering over 50 years.”

     The induction ceremony will begin at 10 am in the Monomoy Meeting House at Chatham Bars Inn. Following the ceremony, there will be a luncheon banquet in the main dining room at noon, followed by a press conference/closing ceremony in the Monomoy House at 2 p.m. Gene Lavanchy, sports director at WHDH, Channel 7, in Boston, will serve as master of ceremonies during the induction ceremony. Kara Henderson of CNN will serve as moderator during the press
conference/closing ceremony.

     Clement will be presented by Walter Mortimer of the NEBUA, while Darling will be presented by Greer; Ford by Ed Mooney of the Orleans Cardinals; Kilroy by former Cotuit coach Jim Hubbard; Greer by Chatham field manager John Schiffner; Livesy by CCBL Commissioner Bob Stead; Mitchell by Livesy, Showalter by ESPN baseball analyst Peter Gammons and Sullivan by John Whelan and CCBL President Judy Walden Scarafile.

Contact: John Garner, CCBL Director of Broadcasting, 508-790-0394