America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!

League News

Seven Cape League Alumni Honored With Gold Gloves

Ian Happ - Photo: SportsPix LLC
11/03/2022 9:46 AM

Article By: CCBL Public Relations Office

Major League Baseball (MLB) and Rawlings announced the Gold Glove Award winners for 2022 on Tuesday night. Seven Cape League alumni were honored, including six first-time award winners and three rookies. Here are the winners who had roots in the Cape League.

Ian Happ (Harwich 2013/2014)
Happ led all NL Left Fielders with 13 Defensive Runs Saved (DRS)

Brendan Donovan (Hyannis 2017)
Donovan appeared at six positions throughout his rookie season, missing only appearances in CF, C, and P

Jose Trevino (Y-D 2013)
Trevino led all MLB Catchers with 21 DRS and led the league in framing runs saved

Jeremy Pena (Chatham 2017)
Pena finished with an MLB best 15 DRS at Shortstop during his rookie season

Steven Kwan (Wareham 2017)
Kwan led all MLB Left Fielders with 21 DRS and 10 Outs Above Average (OAA)

Shane Bieber (Y-D 2015)
Bieber adds to an already impressive career resume that includes 2019 All-Star Game MVP and the 2020 AL Cy Young

DJ LeMahieu (Harwich 2008)
LeMahieu was honored with the fourth gold glove of his career, and his first since joining the Yankees in 2019