America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!

League News

CCBL's Wilson named Head Baseball Coach at HHS

01/10/2008 8:13 AM

Article By:

Cape League’s Steve Wilson 
Named Head Baseball Coach at Harwich High School

CAPE COD, Mass. – Long-time Cape Cod Baseball League officer Steve Wilson’s life just got a lot busier recently when he was named head baseball coach at Harwich High School.

     Wilson is no stranger to the Harwich baseball program, as he served as Harwich's junior varsity coach for a total of 26 seasons from 1978-92, 1994-02 and again last year, coaching the JV’s to a 16-4 record. He was interim varsity coach during the 1993 season, when legendary coach and former Cape League hurler Fred Thacher took a medical leave of absence. 

     Under the coaching of Thacher and Wilson, the Rough Riders captured their third MIAA Division 3 State championship last spring.

     Wilson, who has worked under three coaching legends in Charlie Horan, former CCBL Commissioner Fred Ebbett and Fred Thacher at Harwich, is a psychologist at Harwich Middle School. 

     He has worked with the Cape League since 1986 in his current capacity as league treasurer and more recently, as director of the league's Web site.


     Beginning its 124th season in 2008, the 10-team Cape League originated in 1885 with individual town teams, was reorganized into the Cape Cod Baseball League in 1923 with teams in Chatham, Falmouth, Hyannis and Osterville and is now the premier collegiate baseball summer league in the country. 
     A total of 198 former Cape Leaguers currently populate major league rosters, including World Series MVP Mike Lowell (Chatham ’94) and captain Jason Varitek (Hyannis ’91 & ’93) of the Boston Red Sox, AL Manager of the Year Eric Wedge (Yarmouth-Dennis ’88), AL Comeback Player of the Year Carlos Pena (Harwich ‘96/Wareham ’97) former Cy Young Award winner Barry Zito (Wareham ’97 & ’98), former AL MVP Frank Thomas (Orleans ’88), former AL batting champion Nomar Garciaparra (Orleans ’93), former NL Fireman of the Year Billy Wagner (Brewster ‘92) and newly-named New York Yankees manager Joe Giardi (Cotuit '84).
     Cape League alumni of yesteryear include Baseball Hall of Famer Harold “Pie” Traynor (Falmouth ’19), former New York Yankee greats ‘Jumpin’ Joe Dugan, Robert “Red” Rolfe (Orleans ’30) and Thurman Munson (Chatham ’67), former Texas Rangers and New York Mets manager Bobby Valentine (Yarmouth ’67), Cy Young Award winners Steve Stone (Chatham ’68) and Mike Flanagan (Falmouth ’72), Rolaids Fireman-of-the-Year Jeff Reardon (Cotuit ’74-76), long-time major league scouts Len Merullo (Barnstable ’35) and Bill Enos (Orleans ’36) and Major League Manager of the Year Nat “Buck” Showalter (Hyannis ’76).


John Garner, Jr.
Director of Public Relations & Broadcasting
(508) 790-0394
[email protected] 

Joe Sherman
Web Editor
(508) 775-4364
[email protected]