America's League

Where the Stars of Tomorrow Shine Tonight!


End of Season Awards Presented By T-Mobile

08/09/2023 4:19 PM

Article By: CCBL Public Relations Office

President’s Trophy and Western Division Champions: Cotuit Kettleers

The Kettleers finished the season 28-15-1, winning the President’s Trophy and West Division with a league-best 57 points.

Eastern Division Champions: Yarmouth-Dennis Red Sox

The Red Sox finished the season 24-19-1, winning the East Division with 49 points.

Paul Galop Commissioner’s Cup: Orleans Firebirds

The Paul Galop Commissioner’s Cup, renamed to honor the longest tenured commissioner in league history, is presented to the team that demonstrates the highest level of integrity and professionalism, on and off the field.

Pat Sorenti MVP Award: Travis Bazzana (Falmouth Commodores)

Bazzana finished the season hitting .375 with a 1.037 OPS, six home runs and 14 stolen bases. Bazzana also added incredible defense as well at second base.

Thurman Munson Batting Champion Award: Travis Bazzana (Falmouth Commodores)

Bazzana led the league in batting average, with a .375 and tied for first in on-base percentage with a .456. Bazzana finished with 52 hits, and six home runs.

BFC Whitehouse Outstanding Pitcher Award: Camron Hill (Cotuit Kettleers)

Hill finished his season 3-0 with a 1.09 ERA and 45 strikeouts.

Russ Ford Outstanding Relief Pitcher Award: Sean Matson (Orleans Firebirds)

Matson finished with a 6-0 run and he did not allow an earned run in 21.2 innings. He had 26 strikeouts, with only 3 walks.

Daniel J. Silva Sportsmanship Award: Hugh Pinkney (Bourne Braves)

Daniel J. Silva Sportsmanship Award recipient is recommended by umpires, under the direction of the Senior Deputy Commissioner. Pinkey tallied 64 plate appearances for the Braves.

Robert A. McNeese Outstanding Pro Prospect Award: Cameron Smith (Hyannis Harbor Hawks)

Smith finished the season hitting .347 with a .981 OPS, along with six home runs and 26 RBIs.

Manny Robello 10th Player Award: Derek Clark (Orleans Firebirds)

The Manny Robello 10th Player Award is given to a player that exceeds expectations on the field as a teammate and displays exemplary citizenship off the field in the community. Clark finished the season 5-1.

Mike Curran Manager of the Year Award: Mike Roberts (Cotuit Kettleers)

Mike Roberts led the Kettleers 28-15-1, the best in the league while also leading the Kettleers to receiving the President’s Trophy.

John J. Claffey Outstanding New England Player Award: Tyler MacGregor (Falmouth Commodores)

MacGregor, a Massachusetts who attends Northeastern, finished the season with a .318 and an OPS of .853.

Robert ‘Curly’ Clement Umpire of the Year Award: Mike Hinojosa

Hinojosa brings the highest level of professionalism, integrity, consistency, and respect for the
game of baseball. This award was selected through recommendations from General Managers, Field Managers, and League Officials.

John Wylde General Manager of the Year Award: Ned Monthie (Brewster Whitecaps)

Monthie has been recognized for his passion and long-time dedication to the success of the Cape Cod Baseball League and his team, the Brewster Whitecaps.